Since you are not doing business in California, you do not have to register the LLC in California. Simply being a resident of the state does not make your business located in the state.
Can a Wyoming LLC operate in California?
The Wyoming LLC can be used to hold several California LLCs (each of which are already paying $800 per year). We don’t need a new Wyoming LLC for each California LLC. As such, the structure would be as follows: You will pay the $800 per year for each entity.
Do I need to register my out of state LLC in California?
BOTTOM LINE: Your out-of-state LLC may have nexus and filing obligations in California and taxes may be owed for such LLC’s activities in California!
Can I use my out of state LLC in California?
A foreign (out-of-state) LLC can be registered to do business in California by filing an Application to Register a Foreign LLC with the Secretary of State’s office, along with a current Certificate of Good Standing, and paying all associated fees.
Can I incorporate in Wyoming if I live in California?
There is no reason why you should incorporate your company in Wyoming if you are operating your business in California. Your two state options for incorporating a California-based business should be California and Delaware – period.
Why choose a Wyoming LLC?
The main benefits of forming a LLC in Wyoming are:
No state income tax on limited liability companies. … LLC assets are safe from personal liabilities. Charging order protection extended to single member LLC’s. Members nor managers are not listed with the state.
Can I be my own registered agent in California?
You can be your own registered agent in California, but you’ll have to list your name and address in the public record. Many business owners don’t want the hassle that comes with this (unsolicited phone calls, junk mail offers, etc.). Hiring a registered agent keeps your information out of the public record.
Do you have to pay the $800 California LLC fee the first year?
Every LLC that is doing business or organized in California must pay an annual tax of $800. … You have until the 15th day of the 4th month from the date you file with the SOS to pay your first-year annual tax.
How do I avoid LLC tax in California?
To avoid back-to-back California Franchise Tax payments, you can hold off on forming your business until January or include a “future file date” on your articles of organization or incorporation when you file.
How are foreign LLCs taxed in California?
The Franchise Tax Board requires a minimum yearly tax of $800 to be paid by LLCs in California. … If a foreign LLC doing business in California fails to file this tax return, it may be required to pay a penalty of $2,000 for every taxable year it has not filed and paid the required tax.
Can I form an LLC in Nevada if I live in California?
Yes, you can form a Nevada LLC if you run an online business in California. However, it is important to understand if doing business out of state is an advantage for you. Doing business out-of-state means doing business outside the state in which your business was originally incorporated.